
 
                

            
                     

       

 
                        
                 

                     
            

                
             

    

 

 

         

          

     

 

     

    

  

  

                
            

  

    

    

   
   

    
    

  

  

 

  

    

State of Minnesota 

County of Olmsted 

Certificate of Filing for Marriage Officiant 

MS 517.04 SOLEMNIZATION PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM MARRIAGES. 
Marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court 
of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge 
of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the 
chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential school administrators of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf 
and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, an individual 
who registers as a civil marriage officiant with a local registrar in a county of this state, or by any mode recognized in section 
517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative Hearings under section 14.48. 

MS 517.05 CREDENTIALS OF MINISTER. 
Ministers of any religious denomination, before they are authorized to solemnize a marriage, shall file a copy of their credentials of 
license or ordination or, if their religious denomination does not issue credentials, authority from the minister’s spiritual assembly, 
with the local registrar of a county in this state, who shall record the same and give a certificate thereof. The place where the 
credentials are recorded shall be endorsed upon and recorded with each certificate of marriage granted by a minister. 

Choose One: 

I am qualified under M.S. 517.04 to perform marriages. 

I am qualified under M.S. 517.05 to perform marriages; attached are my credentials of license or 

ordination or a letter of good standing. 

Choose One: 

My authority to perform marriages has no expiration date. 

My authority to perform marriages expires on 

Full Name: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone Number: 

Age: Date of Birth: 

I, the undersigned, hereby declare under oath that I have read the above Minnesota State Statutes, and I 
declare under penalty of perjury that everything I have stated in this document is true and correct. (Minnesota 

Statute 358.116.) 

County Use Only: 

(Signature of Officiant) Office of Property Records & Licensing 
County of Olmsted, MN 

County and State (where signed) The within instrument was filed in this office for 
record on said date. 

Date: 

Deputy: 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/517.18
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.48
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/358.116


       

 

          

            

     
     

   
   

 
  

            

    

      

             

                             

    

         

     

    

     
   

   

  

           

                         

      

          

      

    

 
   

  

Payment of $40 required for filing Ordination Credentials 

In Person: 

Sign Certificate of Filing when present at Olmsted County Vital Records 

Present credentials of license or ordination or letter of good standing if applicable (Minnesota Statute 517.05) 

Office location: Olmsted County Vital Records 
Government Center – First Floor 

151 4th Street SE 
Rochester, MN 55904 

By Mail: 
Complete Certificate of Filing 

Photocopy credentials of license or ordination or letter of good standing if applicable (Minnesota Statute 517.05) 

Filing Fee Payment Options: 

Check or Money Order: Please made payable to: Olmsted County Vital Records 

Credit Card (Cardholder name must match officiants name) Convenience fee of 2.15% for all card payments 

Visa Mastercard Discover American Express 

Credit Card Number: Expiration Date: 

Security Code: (3-digit code or 4-digit code American Express) 

Name as it appears on card: 

Signature Authorizing Credit Card Charge: 

Mail to: Olmsted County Vital Records 
151 4th Street SE 

Rochester, MN 55904 

By Fax: (507) 328-7965 

Credit Card (Cardholder name must match officiants name) Convenience fee of 2.15% for all card payments 

Visa Mastercard Discover American Express 

Credit Card Number: Expiration Date: 

Security Code: (3-digit code or 4-digit code American Express) 

Your name as it appears on card: 

Signature Authorizing Credit Card Charge: 

Due to high administrative costs, we are unable to issue refunds for overpayment. 
Checks returned for non-payment will be charged a $30 fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 604.113, subdivision 2 and civil 

penalties maybe imposed. 


	I am qualified under M: 
	S: 
	 517: 
	04 to perform marriages: Off
	05 to perform marriages; attached are my credentials of license or ordination or a letter of good standing: Off



	My authority to perform marriages has no expiration date: Off
	My authority to perform marriages expire on: Off
	Full Name: 
	Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip Code: 
	Phone Number: 
	Age: 
	County and State where signed: 
	Date of Birth: 
	Deputy: 
	Check or Money Order: Off
	Credit Card: Off
	Visa 1: Off
	Mastercard 1: Off
	Discover 1: Off
	American Express 1: Off
	Visa 2: Off
	Mastercard 2: Off
	Discover 2: Off
	American Express 2: Off
	Credit Card Number 1: 
	Expiration Date 1: 
	Credit Card Number 2: 
	Expiration Date 2: 
	Security Code 1: 
	Name on Card 1: 
	Name on Card 2: 
	Expires on Date: 
	Instrument File Date: 


